Security Tip of the Week – A Vote You’ll Regret

Learn how a fake WhatsApp voting link scam can hijack your account and access your contacts.

Imagine you open WhatsApp, a popular messaging app, and see a message from someone you know. They send you a link and ask you to vote in an online contest—for example, for their niece in a dance recital or their pet in a costume contest. The message feels casual, but a little urgent, like something a friend would send in a rush. Since the message comes from someone you trust, you don’t feel worried about clicking the link.

But think twice before clicking. This is actually a scam to take over your WhatsApp account! Selecting the “vote” link opens a page that appears to be part of WhatsApp, asking you to verify or connect. This may seem like a harmless step, but if you do so, cybercriminals will connect to your account. Then, they can access your messages and contacts to learn your personal information. They can even forward the same scam to everyone in your contacts!

Tips to Stay Safe

Follow these tips to avoid falling victim to this WhatsApp scam:

  • Be cautious of unexpected messages containing links, even if they appear to come from a real friend or family member.
  • Never link a new device to your account unless you’re the one who initiated the connection. If you receive a message asking you to connect a new device, that’s a red flag for a scam.
  • Regularly check the devices linked to your WhatsApp account in your WhatsApp settings. If there are any devices you don’t recognize, unlink them.

Stop. Look. Think. And don’t be fooled.

Knowbe4-Partner-IN-KY-TN

Tips of the Week Brought to You By Our Partners at KnowBe4

KnowBe4 is the world’s most popular integrated platform for awareness training combined with simulated phishing attacks. Let Keller Schroeder show you how KnowBe4 has helped thousands of organizations just like yours manage the continuing problem of social engineering. Contact us today to learn more.

Share:

Join Our Mailing List

More Posts